A View from Within
Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Should old acquaintance be forgot (?)

Word of the Day: scuttlebutt � SKUH-tul-butt � noun : rumor, gossip

Today I'm feeling... The current mood of szpaichler@netscape.net at www.imood.com

January 02, 2004 - 4:47 p.m.

My new years eve was kinda anti-climactic. I don't know what it was--the company, the having to stay up late (which isn't the norm for me any longer...). S came over and met D for the first time, and then we all started drinking. S was normal at first, and then became super annoying--bitchy in the bad sense, completey caustic and abrasive. We went to A's party, which was quieter than expected. Really nobody other than her sisters and then us showed up.

Well, suffice to say I'm not so sure about S anymore. I think she'll never be more than just a party friend, which is totally fine. It just seems like she hasn't identified who she really is yet, and it's already wearing on me at work. I'm supposed to be one of her supervisors, but she's been leaving early, etc., without telling anybody (including me) expecting that since she knows me that I'll a) not care and b) cover for her. Well, sorry, when my ass is on the line for something you unilaterally decided to do, my job is to tell the truth.

I'm not really sure what I think about 2004 yet. I'm not excited about the next couple months, I can tell you that much. T is leaving, new HR lady is coming in. I still don't know what's going on with law school. I just found out today that my brother has to have major surgery on his stomach as to avoid the esophogeal cancer my father got.

I've also had my first major purchase of 2004--a new freaking windshield. It got a tiny ding (thank you, I-94) just two days ago, and it already spread about 4 inches by today. I went to get it replaced, and learned that my deductible isn't 100, it's 500. So I had to pay for all of it out of pocket. Blah. I was hoping to get new brake pads, but that will have to wait.

Which I guess brings me to my resolutions. While I've never made the whole weight loss resolution, I'm kinda doing that this year because I'm just not happy with the way I look. I want to be healthy, and start now while I'm young. In addition to that, I'm going to extend my "try new things once a month" resolution, and also learn to better manage my money (and have a few grand saved before I go to school/move).

The First Friday Five of 2004

What one thing are you most looking forward to . . .

1. ...today?

Well, I already got out of work, I already got a manicure and a pedicure...I guess seeing D and relaxing?

2. ...over the next week?

Not much is happening in the next week...workwise I have a huge event coming up so I guess tying up the loose ends on that is what I'm looking forward to the most.

3. ...this year?

Figuring out a major factor of my future--I'm either going to law school this year, or I'm moving to another state with D. And, that could be decided in the next week or two, as well. Yikes.

4. ...over the next five years?

Well, like above, seeing where all of this goes. I'll probably be getting married in the next 5 years, buying a house, moving a long distance.

5. ...for the rest of your life?

Just continuing to find happiness. Everytime I think I've found it, it merely raises the bar and keeps me on my feet, which I'm grateful for. I don't ever want to settle.

Comments and Suggestions

Sign My Guestbook

Random!


people are invited to my party

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

what I said - what I'm about to say

What I've said lately:
Um, hi. - April 22, 2004
Hump Day - January 07, 2004
Should old acquaintance be forgot (?) - January 02, 2004
Greatest Hits - December 30, 2003
Happy Holidays - December 27, 2003




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!