A View from Within
Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Happy Holidays

Word of the Day: scuttlebutt � SKUH-tul-butt � noun : rumor, gossip

Today I'm feeling... The current mood of szpaichler@netscape.net at www.imood.com

December 27, 2003 - 8:33 p.m.

I am the proud new owner of a brand new silver, wireless enabled Toshiba laptop.

While it's not a ring, as most of my surrounding friends and family were hoping, it sparked some particularly intereting conversation about our future.

"Yeah, it cost a lot, but it's worth it for you," he said. "I see it as an investment...you need a computer for law school and I want to support you as much as possible. That, and I had to figure out a way to beat Germany."

How cute is he?

So christmas happened. On Christmas Eve we spent the night at his mother's house, a dreadful experience but I guess it feels nice to make his mother happy. I realize she's very lonely and if we can help, I'm happy to do it. We woke up, came home, and did our christmas. He's extremely happy with his gifts. He also got me the Pirates of the Carribbean DVD, and a bag that will hold my laptop and books for school.

Assuming I get in. But we'll get to that later.

Then, my dad and brothers came over, as did his mom, and we all went to Benihana for christmas dinner. (We sat next to two Detroit Lions.) Our families mesh well. My dad LOVES D. He even called me yesterday to talk about how "if you wanted to get serious about someone, I guess it would be ok to get serious about him." I love that my dad has a special way of talking about things like that.

Speaking of my dad, the cancer is still there, officially. And, unfortunately, the next time he needs anything done (ie the next "flare up"), they're going to have to do a bone marrow transplant. Not looking forward to whenever that is.

So. D and I went to lunch yesterday, and surprise of all surprises, he starts talking about our future. In the "we" form. Up until now it's been mostly in the "if" form and mostly brought up by yours truly. But, we talked about how we want to leave this godforsaken state, and what my plans are re school, whether or not I get in. And how he's going to determine where he's going to work by what happens to ME.

Yeah, i can hardly believe it too.

So, we came home and researched places to live. I made a spreadsheet, we did a chart (we're complete dorks). So if I don't get into law school, I won't be so broken hearted because that means, we get to move! If I do, we move in a little over three years, after we're married.

Our top places:

Raleigh, NC

Hampton, VA

Austin, TX

Raleigh is far in the lead.

It's been a good holiday :)

Comments and Suggestions

Sign My Guestbook

Random!


people are invited to my party

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

what I said - what I'm about to say

What I've said lately:
Um, hi. - April 22, 2004
Hump Day - January 07, 2004
Should old acquaintance be forgot (?) - January 02, 2004
Greatest Hits - December 30, 2003
Happy Holidays - December 27, 2003




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!